The Royal Society Africa Prize 2023 is awarded to Professor Kelly Chibale for exceptional leadership and groundbreaking work in drug discovery for African endemic diseases.

Royal Society Africa Prize

The award

The Royal Society Africa Prize is to recognise research scientists based in Africa who are making an innovative contribution to the sciences. The medal is of bronze, awarded annually and is accompanied by a gift of £2,000. The prize was previously the Royal Society Pfizer Award which was last awarded in 2016.


The Royal Society Africa Prize is open to African citizens. The Prize is intended for researchers at a senior stage of their research career with the potential to build a research project to follow on from the prize. Nominations will remain valid and shall be considered by the award selection committee throughout three nomination cycles.

The terms and conditions of the Royal Society Africa Prize (PDF) should be read before submitting a nomination.

Please note: If you would like to nominate an early career scientist in the field of  physical, mathematical and engineering science based in Africa, then please see Rising Star Africa Prize .


  • The call for nominations is now open. Please ensure you read through the guidance document fully.
  • The Royal Society is encouraging nominations of joint collaborations, groups or teams for almost all its medals to better represent how contemporary science is undertaken. In addition, the Society is extremely keen to broaden the diversity of those nominated for its awards, so do please consider all contacts and colleagues.
  • You do not have to be a Fellow of the Royal Society to nominate or to be nominated for any of the Royal Society medals and awards.
RELATED POST  2024 Sterling Bank Graduate Trainee Program For Young Nigerians

Application Deadline:

Nominations close on Friday 23 February 2024 at 23:59 GMT.

Past winners

  • Professor Novel Njweipi Chegou was awarded the Royal Society Africa Prize 2022 for his work in the fields of pulmonary and extrapulmonary tuberculosis, and his innovative project proposal.
  • Professor George Warimwe was awarded the Royal Society Africa Prize 2021 for his work on zoonoses vaccine development, capacity building in Africa, and his innovative research proposal.
  • Dr Steven Runo was awarded the Royal Society Africa Prize 2020 for elucidating pathways for long distance RNA trafficking between parasitic plants and their hosts and identifying and developing transgenic protocol for characterizing and validating candidate host and parasite genes.
  • Dr Henry Mwandumba was awarded the Royal Society Africa Prize 2019 for his novel work in description of the TB phagosome in HIV infected alveolar macrophages and his leadership in the College of Medicine in Malawi.

Visit the Official Webpage of the Royal Society Africa Prize

Read More:

If you’ve found this article useful, please utilize the share icons below to share with your family, friends and loved ones. For any additional inquiries about this content, feel free to reach out via our Contact Us

By Correct Boss

This Post Is Been Published By Correct Boss The Founder Of Mb-educateonline site which he was good at sharing JAMB,NECO, NABTEB,WAEC and other schools update

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *